Surrender

“Something amazing happens when we surrender and just love. We melt into another world, a realm of power already within us. The world changes when we change. The world softens when we soften. The world loves us when we choose to love the world.” ~ Marianne Williamson

I thought I’d keep it simple and do my photo-heart connection  by leaving you with a quote. It is a lovely quote, isn’t it? But, I feel I want to talk a little more about the image. I have about 30 minutes before I need to jump into the shower. I was hoping to squeeze in a cup of coffee, but a rushed cup of coffee is totally pointless.  29 minutes starts now.

Everything just clicked. The moment I took that photo, I realized I had it. I had all I need. I had this lovely time in the mountains with my family. I had plenty of alone time to walk about the grassy fields, to take in the fresh mountain air, to zen out and just totally be with everything, and of course, to explore and play with my camera. I love flowers. And I kept clicking away. What I thought I ‘lacked’, probably earlier on as we were preparing for this vacation, was a better lens. Something I have been dreaming to get, but still need to save up for. When I saw this image, my heart just beamed. It was exactly how I wanted it. So when I say ‘I realized I had it’, I mean I did exactly what I needed to do to realize we are given, or we have, everything we need at any given moment. I needed to trust I could take the photos I wanted to take and then lighten up and just play. I have the lens which came with the kit and apparently it is enough for now. My husband says I ought to love the lens I have first, and learn to use it. He does have a point.

All we need to do is to surrender to the moment, remember some tips, and find the light. And we learn what we need to learn, and discover many wonderful things for ourselves. But everything, EVERYTHING, is a surrender. Lastly, I learned that it is important to be kind and gentle to oneself, just as you would be to your own child. For while it seems so romantic and easy to simply go with this surrendering, we will encounter many challenges. But, if you develop a loving voice towards yourself, the letting go becomes easier.

I wish you all the courage to listen to your loving voice inside. And surrender.

8 thoughts on “Surrender

  1. Thank you, Jenn, for your words and your always beautiful images!! They are so peaceful, simple, and yet utterly stunning.

  2. Ah, Jennifer, so many words of wisdom in your Photo-Heart Connection this month. In our striving to have it all, we forget that we have everything we need in the moment. We forget that we can be our harshest critic and task master. I love how you tell the story of realizing what you have, how you talk of being loving toward yourself. Thank you for sharing these words in your 29 minutes. I have been blessed by them!

  3. Thank you for this! I’m going to print it out and hang it where I can see it everyday; a reminder that I have what I need. Both your words and your image are so beautiful! P.S. My husband says I have a serious case of lens envy!

Leave a Reply

